Award year


Awarded annually to a full-time undergraduate or graduate student for their excellence in research involving surface analysis and/or surface science as part of their undergraduate or graduate thesis studies.

Dr. N. Stewart McIntyre, who was director of SSW from 1981 to 2005. He has published over 200 publications in the field of surface science and related subjects and is currently a Professor Emeritus in the Department of Chemistry at Western. He remains active in materials research, XRF and XRD applications, and in facilitating such work using HP computations.